MAKI NA KAMURA (born in Osaka, Japan) deals in its work with questions concerning the tradition of painting and its position in the present, operating with a certain irony and always at a distance from the mainstream.

Maki Na Kamura, Fasanenstr. 69, Berlin, September 2005

Fasanenstr. 69, Berlin, September 2005

In the autumn of 2005, Na Kamura went to the offices of the Berlin daily newspaper Der Tagesspiegel and purchased a half-page ad. It announced a one-week event in a temporarily repurposed shop space – across the road from the famous Grisebach auction house.
 
The ad stated:  IS THIS AN EXHIBITION? DOES MAKI NA KAMURA NOW BELONG TO THE ART WORLD?
 
The event ran until the day before the preview of Berlin’s popular art fair; a few curious people turned up, and even the press took note.
This is characteristic of Na Kamura’s position in the world of contemporary art.

 
 
 

YouTube: Video Diary One – Apropos Corona, 2020

 
 

Maki Na Kamura’s painting, especially landscapes, has been included in major overviews including Landscape Painting Now (Thames & Hudson, New York 2019) and Vitamin P2 – New Perspectives in Painting (Phaidon, London 2011).
 
So does Maki Na Kamura now belong to the art world? The answer is unclear.

To Album

MAKI NA KAMURA (*Osaka/Japan) setzt sich in ihrem Werk mit Fragen der Tradition der Malerei und deren Position in der Gegenwart auseinander, indem sie mit einer gewissen Ironie und stets mit Abstand zum wechselnden Mainstream operiert.

Maki Na Kamura, Fasanenstr. 69, Berlin, September 2005

Fasanenstr. 69, Berlin, September 2005

Im Herbst 2005 befand sich Na Kamura im Tagesspiegel-Gebäude und kaufte eine Großanzeige. Angekündigt wurde ein einwöchiger Event in einem temporär eingerichteten Ladenlokal – gegenüber des renommierten Auktionshauses Grisebach. Die Anzeige lautete:
IST DIES EINE AUSSTELLUNG? GEHÖRT MAKI NA KAMURA NUN ZUR KUNSTWELT?.

Das fand bis zum Vortag der Preview von der angesagten Kunstmesse statt; es kamen einige Neugierige, und sogar die Presse nahm Notiz davon. Dieses charakterisiert Na Kamuras Position in der gegenwärtigen Kunstwelt.

 
 

YouTube: Video Diary One – Apropos Corona, 2020

 
 

Maki Na Kamuras Malerei, insbesondere Landschaft, findet sich in Standardpublikationen, wie zum Beispiel in Landscape Painting Now (Thames & Hudson, New York 2019) und Vitamin P2 – New Perspectives in Painting (Phaidon, London 2011).
Gehört denn Maki Na Kamura nun zur Kunstwelt? Die Antwort ist ungewiß.

Zum Album